Adama Jalloh, Adesuwa Aighewi, Adut Akech, Akinola Davies and more make 100 New Wave: Creatives The British Fashion Council

Adama Jalloh (Photographer); Adesuwa Aighewi (Model), Adut Akech (Model); Akinola Davies (Filmmaker); Mayowa Nicholas,  (Model); Nadine Ijewere(Photographer); Natasha Luwedde (Model), Wilson Oryema (Model, Artist, Writer), Bolade Banjo (Photographer) and more were recently announced  as NEW WAVE: Creatives which includes 100 of the most innovative and inspiring young creative talent from around the world.

Organised by The British Fashion Council, the list includes trailblazers from image-makers, hair and makeup artists, set designers and creative directors, to models, digital influencers and stylists and will be celebrated at The Fashion Awards 2018 in partnership with Swarovski on Monday 10th December at the Royal Albert Hall in London. The announcement follows the unveiling of the first 40 names, which took place a few weeks ago at events in Shanghai and New York.

This year marks the first time The Fashion Awards 2018 in partnership with Swarovski celebrate the young global creative community by recognising 100 of the most innovative and inspiring young creative talent from around the world via NEW WAVE: Creatives. The shortlist highlights London’s position as an international hub and pays homage to the incredible success of both home-grown and international talent, while celebrating all those who play a vital role in the industry’s cultural and creative reputation.

The names of the following 60 creatives are:

Adama Jalloh (Photographer); Adut Akech (Model); Akinola Davies (Filmmaker); Alexandra Van Houtte (Founder, TAGWALK); Ammy Drammeh (Make-up Artist); Ascia Faraj (Blogger); Bardia Zeinali (Videographer); Blanca Miro (Artist); Bolade Banjo (Photographer); Boris Meister (Graphic Designer); Campbell Addy (Photographer); Carlijn Jacobs (Photographer, Creative Director); Caroline Daur (Influencer); Coco Capitan (Photographer, Artist); Danny Reed (Stylist); Davide Micciulla (Video Director); Eva Al Desnudo (Photographer) Fenn O’Meally(Filmmaker, Journalist); Finn Buchanan (Model); Fran Summers (Model); Harry Lambert (Stylist); Hayett McCarthy (Model); Hick Duarte (Photographer); Hye Yeon Han (Stylist);Ibrahim Kamara (Stylist, Fashion Editor at Large i-D); Isabel + Helen (Set Designers); Jack Davison (Photographer); Jesse Lizotte (Photographer); Jordan Robson (Movement Director, Choreographer, Creative Consultant); Kristin-Lee Moolman (Photographer); Liv Little (Founder, Gal-Dem); Lucy Bridge (Make-up Artist); Luke Edward Hall (Interior Designer); Madeleine Ostlie (Casting Director); Marc Goehring (Fashion Director, 032c); Marriam Mossalli (Entrepreneur & Journalist); Maxim Magnus (Model); Mayowa Nicholas (Model); Nadine Ijewere(Photographer); Natasha Luwedde (Model); Oliver Hadlee Pearch (Photographer, Filmmaker); PAQ Group (Creatives, Filmmakers); Paul Peter (Photographer); Peggy Gou (DJ); Pooja Mor(Model); Rei Nadal (Artist, Director); Samuel Douek (Filmmaker, Visual Artist); Simon Winkelmueller (Stylist); Simran Randhawa (Writer, Model, Influencer); Sinead Burke (Journalist); Stella Lucia (Model); Taleedah Tamer (Model); Thurstan Redding (Photographer); Tom Johnson (Photographer); Ursina Gysi (Stylist); Valentin Herfray (Photographer); Vittoria Cerciello(Stylist); Vittoria Ceretti (Model); William Farr (Image Maker); Wilson Oryema (Model, Artist, Writer)

 Caroline Rush, BFC Chief Executive commented: “We are extremely proud to be celebrating NEW WAVE: Creatives. The list includes an incredible mixture of young creative talent from all over the world and by introducing this new category at The Fashion Awards in Partnership with Swarovski we aim to shine a light on the next generation of global talent. London, more than any other city, represents youth and creativity which makes it the perfect place to acknowledge their contribution to the global fashion industry. We look forward to celebrating all our NEW WAVE: Creatives on the 10th of December”

The 40 names of the already announced creatives in China and the US are:

Adesuwa Aighewi (Model); Anny Fan (Digital Influencer) Anok Yai (Model); Aquaria (Drag Performer); Brianna Capozzi; (Photographer); Carlos Nazario (Stylist, Senior Fashion Editor i-D);Chu Wong (Model); Cleo Wade (Poet, Artist, Author); Ethan James Green (Photographer); Fan Qiong (Stylist); Fan Zhang (Hair Stylist); Fil Xiaobai (Stylist); Halima Aden (Model); Hari Nef (Model, Actress, Activist); Jawara Wauchope (Hair Stylist); Jiali Zhao (Model); Jin Jia Ji (Photographer); Jing Wen (Model); Joshua Woods (Photographer); Jumbo Tsui (Photographer);Kaia Gerber (Model); Leslie Zhang (Photographer); Liang Hengyi (Photographer); Lil Miquela (Musician, Producer); Luka Sabbat (Creative Entrepreneur); Luo Yang (Photographer); Mia Kong (Stylist, Influencer); Nick Vogelson (Founder & Editor in Chief, Document Journal); Nyle DiMarco (Model, Actor, Activist); Solange Franklin (Stylist); Tao Liang, Mr Bags (Digital Influencer); Ting Chen (Model); Tony Liu and Lindsey Schuyler (Fashion Critics, Diet Prada); Tyler Mitchell (Photographer); Wen Zhi (Hair Stylist); Xin Miao (Make-Up Artist); Yu Cong(Photographer, Art Director); Zeng Wu (Photographer); Ziqian Wang (Photographer); Zoey Grossman (Photographer)


The 2000 members of The Fashion Awards Voting Panel were asked to nominate those they believed to be the best young creative talent of today. The final list encompasses 100 names and includes some of fashion’s most exciting and forward-thinking young professionals. The criteria were simply to vote for the most creative new wave of talent across creative disciplines in fashion.

The Fashion Awards is the main fundraiser for the British Fashion Council (BFC), a not for profit organisation focused on promoting excellence in British fashion and supporting the future pipeline of creative talent. As part of their continued and generous support of The Fashion Awards 2018, Swarovski has pledged a £300,000 donation to the BFC Education Foundation in advance of this year’s event.

The BFC’s work is achieved through a range of charitable initiatives which focus on education, business and mentoring schemes that support talent from school level and emerging designers to fashion start-ups and established brands. In 2017, the BFC raised over £2.2 million for its charities and business support initiatives and in the twelve months to March 2018 has allocated £1.1 million in grants to designer businesses to support these efforts.

The generosity and commitment of our sponsors is more vital than ever. Please help us by acknowledging our Principal Sponsor SWAROVSKI for their support of The Fashion Awards 2018. Official Sponsors American Express, Bird in Hand, Digital Domain, Getty Images, Lavazza, Mercedes-Benz, Rosewood London and Slingsby Gin.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The online destination and fashion journal that goes beyond the surface and taps the pulse on all things FASHION. First out of Nigeria and increasingly across the continent, with wit, intelligence and humour.


TSS is an arm of the RED brand, which is the continent's largest omni-media group focused on Africa's youth.